Saltar al contenido

▷▷ 2021 ▷ How to get a motorcycle license in Florida

7 julio, 2021


Before you can ride a motorcycle in Florida, you need to go through a couple of steps. Number one? Get your license. Obtaining the correct credentials is not a complicated process, but it does involve several important steps that you should know about. The process varies depending on whether you already have a driver’s license or not. It will also be a bit different if you are a new resident looking to convert an out-of-state license to a Florida license. To help take the mystery out of the process, here is everything you need to know about getting a motorcycle license in Florida.

New residents

If you have an out-of-state motorcycle endorsement or license, obtaining a Florida license is relatively easy. Unlike new riders, you won’t have to worry about taking an exam or taking a safety course. As long as your current license is still valid, you can transfer your license at the local Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) driver license office. You must bring with you:

  • Out-of-state license / endorsement
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of citizenship
  • Proof of your social security number
  • Two documents showing your Florida address

Once you submit the required documentation, your existing endorsement / license will transfer to a Florida one. The process is slightly different if you have an Alabama license, in which case you will need to provide a Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) Basic Rider Course Completion Card before your approval can be transferred.

How to get a Florida motorcycle license

Florida offers two forms of licensing: an exclusive motorcycle license for those who do not have an existing driver’s license, and a motorcycle endorsement, which can be added to an existing license. To apply for either, you must be at least 16 years old. Regardless of whether you are applying for a motorcycle endorsement or an exclusive motorcycle license, you will need to complete a Basic Rider Course (BRC) through the Florida Rider Training Program. Only once you have passed the course will you be able to apply for your license.

Beginner drivers

If you do not have a driver’s license, you will need to take a traffic law and substance abuse education course as the first step towards obtaining your motorcycle license. You can take the Drug, Alcohol, Traffic Awareness, First Time Driver (DATA) course or the Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.

How to get a motorcycle endorsement

According to dmvflorida.org, if you already have a current and valid Florida driver’s license, you can request to have a motorcycle endorsement added to it. This will then authorize you to ride your motorcycle with that license. To apply, you will need to visit your local DHSMV driver license office or tax collector location and bring the following with you:

  • A valid certificate of completion of a basic MSF cycling course
  • Your Class E FL driver’s license
  • Proof of identity
  • SSN test
  • 2 proof of address

Once you pay the required fee, you will receive your endorsement. The endorsement will run in conjunction with your license and will be valid for as long as the license itself is valid.

How to get an exclusive license for motorcycles

If you don’t have a driver’s license, you can apply for an exclusive motorcycle license instead of an endorsement. To apply, you must be at least 16 years old and have held a Class E learner’s permit for a minimum of one year without incurring moving traffic violations. Applicants over the age of 18 are not required to have a learner’s permit. However, those who fail to do so will be required to pass a class E operator license exam, which includes a written exam and a vision exam. According to aceable.com, the test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions. If you wear corrective lenses or glasses, be sure to bring them with you to the eye exam.

All applicants, regardless of age and regardless of whether they have a learner’s permit, will be required to successfully complete a Foundation for Motorcycle Safety Basic Rider Course.

  • To get licensed, you will need to visit a driver’s license office or tax collector office with the following:
  • A valid certificate of completion of a basic MSF cycling course
  • Learner’s license if you are under 18 years old
  • Proof of identity
  • SSN test
  • 2 proof of address

Once you have paid the processing fee and passed the required tests, your exclusive motorcycle license will be issued.

Basic course for drivers

TO…



salaguamotors link