Each state in the United States has its own set of rules and requirements for obtaining a motorcycle license. All Georgia residents must have a valid motorcycle license to legally operate a motorcycle on public roads. Although the laws change periodically, we have compiled information on the current requirements and processes involved to obtain this license as of December 2020. Here you will find everything you need to know about how to proceed.
Why do you need to have a motorcycle license?
Certain vehicles are exempt from the requirement for a Class M license. The Georgia Department of Driver Services advises that all persons who operate a motorized bicycle or motorcycle must have a valid Class M license. The only exception is if the driver has at least a Class M instruction permit. The agency goes further to define what types of vehicles fall into this category. Any motor vehicle that has a saddle, and is controlled by handlebars that travel on three wheels or less, that make contact with the ground, falls into this category. The exceptions are a moped or a tractor. The rest are considered motorcycles that require this type of license. All motorcycles, scooters or minibikes with engines of 51 cc or more also fall into this classification.
Georgians have two options for obtaining a motorcycle license
There are two ways to obtain a motorcycle license in the state of Georgia if you meet all other requirements. These are to take a motorcycle safety program course and pass it, or to submit an application to the DDS customer service center to take the required tests and pass them to be eligible to apply for a license.
What do motorcycle safety training classes entail?
Killer Creek Harleys has partnered with the Motorcycle Safety Foundation in conjunction with the Honda Riding Education Center to develop Killer Creek Harley = Davidson University. They offer a course that will prepare you to get your Class M motorcycle license in Alpharetta. The center offers classes to learn about motorcycle safety in regards to safe operation on public roads and beyond. Qualified instructors deliver classroom instruction. By passing this segment of the course, cyclists receive practical training with time to physically ride motorcycles to gain experience in simulated situations for driving on public roads. Students gain experience in the fundamentals of driving. After completing the course, a 90-day waiver is issued to avoid certain aspects of the tests required to obtain a motorcycle license in the state of Georgia.
Other eligibility requirements
All applicants must pass an eye exam. They must also pass the Georgia DDS knowledge test. Those who obtain an MP class permit to practice are only required to travel during daylight hours without passengers. Driving is not allowed on limited access roads. A helmet must be worn at all times. A motorcycle driving test must be taken and passed. Applicants must be at least 16 years old to apply for a motorcycle license. All passengers under the age of 17 must take and pass a 30-hour driver safety course in addition to the other requirements. You must have already obtained a Georgia state driver’s license to be eligible for a motorcycle license. All applicants who complete an approved motorcycle safety instruction course receive a 90-day waiver that entitles them to be eligible for a motorcycle license. These applicants are not required to take the written or driving portions of the licensing requirements. If you do not take and pass the courses, you must complete all the steps, including the written and driving skills assessment tests.
Fees to obtain a motorcycle license in Georgia
The fee for a motorcycle license in the state of Georgia is $ 25 for a five-year license. Those granted an eight-year license are charged $ 32. These rates are subject to change annually.
Requirements for minors – Minors must be legal residents or citizens of the United States, at least 16 years of age. Minors must have written parental permission to apply for a motorcycle license, complete a 30-hour diver education course, complete a Georgia Behind the Wheel certified program if they are under the age of 17, a certificate of attendance that demonstrate school enrollment …