Below is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines related to speeding traffic violations in the state of Tennessee.
Speed limits in Tennessee
70 mph: rural interstates and some other controlled access highways
55-65 mph: urban highways and interstates and four-lane divided highways
55 mph: Most state-maintained two-lane highways outside municipal boundaries
The speed limit within municipalities varies widely, and could be posted between 15 mph and 55 mph, depending on the type of road. This is due to the fact that Tennessee gives counties liberal powers of autonomy to set their own speed limits.
Tennessee Code at a reasonable and prudent speed
This state does not have a law that establishes a basic speed rule.
Minimum speed law:
According to section 15-316 of the TN Vehicle Code, “No person shall operate a motor vehicle at a speed so slow that it impedes the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”
Section 15-106 states: “A person driving at a slower speed than normal traffic shall drive in the right lane that is available to traffic or as close as possible to the curb or edge of the road to the right”.
Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed sensing technology, it is rare for an officer to stop a driver for going less than five miles over the speed limit. . However, technically any speeding can be considered a speeding violation, so it is best practice to stay within the limit.
While it can be difficult to fight a speeding ticket in Tennessee due to the absolute speed limit law, a driver can choose to go to court and claim their innocence based on one of the following:
The driver may object to the determination of the speed. To claim this defense, a driver must know how his speed was determined and then learn how to disprove his accuracy.
A driver can claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit to avoid injury or harm to himself or others.
The driver can claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer observes a speeding driver and subsequently has to meet him again in traffic, he may have made a mistake and stopped the wrong car.
Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Tennessee
First-time offenders can:
Receive a fine of up to $ 77.75
Be sentenced to up to 30 days in jail.
Have your license suspended for up to six months
Reckless Driving Penalty in Tennessee
There is no set amount by which exceeding the speed limit constitutes reckless driving in this state. That determination may be based on other factors involved in the violation.
First-time offenders can:
Receive a fine of up to $ 500
Be sentenced to up to six months in jail.
Have your license suspended (through a point system)
Violators may be required to attend driver education classes.