Skip to content

How to appear offline in Instagram DMs so that your friends do not see it

24 mayo, 2021

A few hours ago, Instagram announced on its blog a new functionality that reached all users: a green indicator that let your friends know when you are online (and vice versa).

That means that if you are scrolling through Instagram posts, other users can see that you currently have the application open.

Those who are concerned about their privacy or who do not want other users to really know how much time they spend on the social network could not be very happy with this change. Fortunately, this can be reversed.

FACEBOOK keeps a record of ALL WEBSITES you visit so you can DEACTIVATE IT

How to disable Activity Status

To begin with, we must know that (for now) only can you tell if we are connected in two places: in the area reserved for Instagram Direct (DM’s) and when the menu to share publications appears.

Before this green color point, Instagram showed messages like “active 15 minutes ago” or “active now” in gray text that appeared in the direct messages area.

Instagram

If we deactivate it, we will not be able to see the status of other accounts either

If we want to disable this functionalityWe will simply have to go to our profile, click on the three points in the upper right to enter ‘Settings’, scroll down and click on ‘Activity status’ and deactivate ‘Show activity status’.

We must know that if we decide to deactivate it, we will not be able to see if other accounts are connected, as it happens on other platforms: WhatsApp, etc.

Updates like this show again how much Instagram has changed over the years. From being a social network focused on photography, filters and frames, to becoming a platform meticulously designed so that we spend as much time as possible.

In Genbeta | The latest internet craze: jump out of running cars with the #InMyFeelings challenge