Skip to content

How to automatically delete the activity history of your Google account

21 mayo, 2021

Our Google account is recorded in a private history with all the websites we visit, our searches and the applications we use every day. East activity history is used to offer us personalized recommendations and advertisements.

Until now, we could manually manage our activity, delete the entire history, by days or by products, but finally we can automatically delete our activity history.

Your timeline in Google Maps: how to check and manage your Android's location history

Automatically delete our activity from Android

From our mobile we can configure our Google account so that it automatically eliminates our history of activity on the web and in applications every day. Or put another way, we can tell Google how long we want it to keep our activity.

Automatic deletion

To do this, we just have to follow these steps:

  1. Open the app Google
  2. Click on the tab More
  3. Tap on Search Activity
  4. Tap on Automatic deletion
Automatic deletion

Google will allow us to save our activity forever, or during 18 months or 3 months, automatically deleting the history that exceeds this period. By default, Google will automatically delete our activity after 18 months, unless we have customized the settings.

Pause the Activity feature

Automatic deletion

If we do not want Google to save our history, and we do not care to lose personalized recommendations, suggestions based on our history, such as Google Maps routes, or the most used applications, we can deactivate it.

For this we just have to go back to Google> More> Search Activity and on the same activity card as before, click on the edit icon. There we can pause the Activity feature so that Google stops saving our web activity and applications in our Google account.

From the computer

Automatic deletion

If you are from your computer or laptop right now, you don’t have to do the steps from your mobile, you can also do them from the web browser. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Access your Google account.
  2. In the left navigation panel, click Data and personalization.
  3. In the section “Controls your account activity”, click Activity on the Web and in Applications and then in Manage activity.
  4. Click on Automatic deletion.
  5. Select how long you want to keep your activity. Click on Next and then on Confirm to save the chosen option.