With our Google account, the location history, a feature that records our location at all times to track our journeys and places we visit.
This data is used by Google to offer us personalized experiences, such as recommendations based on sites or daily trips. This history can be consulted and managed at any time from the Google Maps timeline.
Check your timeline
To see our location history we just have to open the application Google maps and in its side menu access Chronology. There we can see the sites and routes that we have made every day. By clicking on the calendar icon we can select a certain day.
Manage your timeline
We can review the chronology of a certain day to add a site that we have visited and that Google Maps has not detected, to edit some information that it has not detected well, such as the travel time or duration of a trip, or delete the entire day if we do not want it to be recorded in our history.
Add notes to your timeline
It also allows us to add notes to a day of our chronology, in case we want to remember in the past why we were that day at that location or that journey was made.
Delete location history
Since Timeline> Menu> Settings we can delete location history. For this we have two options, one for delete all location history and another option for remove a period from history.
Turn off location history
In Engadget Android
Google Maps for Android: how to share the progress of your trip with your contacts
From its settings we can also deactivate the history by tapping on the option Location history is on. It takes us to our Google account to show us the option to turn off location history. By deactivating this option, Google will stop saving our locations and routes, so we will no longer receive personalized recommendations through the Google Assistant and other company services.
In Engadget Android
Even if you disable it, Google stores your location history for business purposes – so you can avoid it