Skip to content

How to deactivate the location history and prevent Google from storing our location

23 mayo, 2021

Something that should never be overlooked is that since mobile phones have existed, their owners they know where we are at all times, and that means that those who have created the software we use every time we unlock the screen also know it. And in the case of Android, we are talking about Google. But this can be avoided to some extent or, at the very least, make it a little more difficult for the account.

Mobile phones carry GPS and we can prevent our location from being tracked without having to disconnect them, we simply have to disable what Google calls “Location History” and that it is nothing other than the list of registered sites where we go through. This can be done in two ways: through the Google Maps app and in the Google account itself. Let’s look at the two steps.

How to disable location history on Google Maps

Maps

Having an Android phone in your hands, the most normal thing is that you have the Google Maps app installed, as it is part of the Google Mobile Services that Mountain View installs in practically every phone that goes on sale. So if you have it handy, you can use it to disable location history.

Google Maps in depth: guide with 35 tricks to take advantage of all its functions

To do this you will only have to open Google Maps and slide the drop-down on the left to access “Your chronology “. Once inside, we look for the three vertical points in the upper right and click on Settings and Privacy. There we will only have to search Location settings. Now we will have several options.

Disable notification history through Google Maps Disable notification history through Google Maps

The first is the indicator of what state our automatic location is in. By clicking on it we can activate or deactivate it so that our phone stops collecting this data. What interests us is, however, in the second place: “location history is on “. There we can enter and deactivate it with a couple of taps. Later, if we wish, we can make use of the third option, which is Delete all location history.

We can deactivate the history, erase it, erase only some parts or program it to be erased without our help.

There is a fourth interesting option that allows us to erase specific bands of our movements from the register. It is called “Delete a period from the location history” and we can decide which strip to delete without affecting the rest of the record. By last, we can activate automatic deletion. Thus, we can keep the history active and it will be erased from time to time as we indicate.

So remember:

Google Maps> Your timeline> Settings and Privacy> Location history is on> Switch to deactivate

How to disable location history from Google account

Disable the notification history through the Google app Disable the notification history through the Google app

If we wish, or if we do not have Google Maps installed on our phone for any reason, we can resort to the google app to carry out the same process. We simply locate it among our installed applications, open it and follow the following steps.

With the Google app open, click in the upper right corner on our photo to open the options, there will appear a button called “Manage your Google account“and click on it. A floating browser window will open with our account settings. We slide to the left to go from tab to tab until we reach”Data and personalization“.

We show you how to access the location history of your Google account through Maps

There we find a section dedicated to “Location history “ (the same one that we access from Google Maps), in the Activity Controls section of your account. We will only have to access and click on the blue switch to deactivate the history. As we will see, Google tells us that this registration is only paused, and that we can activate it again whenever we want. Now you just have to click on Pause and that’s it.

Let’s remember:

Google App> Profile photo> Manage your Google account> Data and Personalization tab> Location history> Switch to deactivate