Saltar al contenido

How to delete your Facebook account completely and forever

21 mayo, 2021

Maybe on some occasion you have felt envy of those people who in the age of social networks as centers of digital life live completely oblivious to them. You may even have wished to disappear from Facebook. If that is your goal, we will explain how to delete your account once and for all.

Because yes, it is possible to delete your Facebook, and it is relatively simple when you know from where and how to do it. Another thing is if you want to deactivate your account, which is basically to make it disappear temporarily until at some point you decide to return.

On this last case, it’s not as easy as it should. Registering, despite all the information that Facebook asks for, is a breeze compared to all the steps that must be taken so that the Menlo Park allow us to say goodbye to them. Fortunately, following our simple step-by-step guide, you will not run into problems, choose the option you choose because you will get to the last step without flinching.

Delete the Facebook account completely and permanently

Eraser 795 771 1280

More than one Facebook user might think that Mark Zuckerberg’s people want to make it extremely difficult for us to leave their network, and in fact they do, but half. Accessing the configuration options we will not find a way out, beyond the possibility of deactivating our account. To find how erase us, it will take a little more searching.

Specifically, we will have to enter the help service and find a page entitled “What do I have to do to permanently delete my account?”. We can also go from the menu that we find at the top right in the interface to Settings and privacy > Setting > Your Facebook information > Deactivation and removal. On the help page they explain that we will not be able to reactivate our account or recover anything we have added and that it will take up to 90 days from the beginning of the elimination process to delete everything we have published. While this information is being deleted, other Facebook users will not be able to access it, although we must bear in mind that data such as sent messages, as they are not stored in our account, will not be deleted.

In addition to offering us a link from which to download a copy of our data, this help links to the web page from which to carry out the complete and definitive deletion: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account.

Page from which to start the process of permanent deletion of the Facebook account

Page from which to start the process of permanent deletion of the Facebook account.

Depending on the time that has elapsed since the last time we entered our credentials, it will probably ask us to enter the password again and resolve a captcha to access the option. Remember that you can change the captcha if the one that has touched you is difficult to solve, as well as resort to an audio captcha.

I have downloaded all the data that Facebook has on me, and now I know that I can rebuild my life whenever I want

Overcome this obstacle, we will click on the button “Delete my account”. The window that asks for the password and a captcha appears again, we will enter the requested information, and continue. Once these procedures are concluded, a new window will inform us that our account has been deactivated and will be permanently deleted in the following days. If in those 14 days we regret the decision, we can cancel the deletion request by logging in, but once we have passed it on Facebook, there will no longer be a trace of our profile.

FACEBOOK keeps a record of ALL WEBSITES you visit so you can DEACTIVATE IT

Deactivating is not the same as deleting a Facebook account

Although the term “deactivate” can be misleading, we must be clear that it does not mean a total elimination. In this case we are simply talking about leaving an account inactive, remaining asleep on the company’s servers until, at some point, we can decide to reactivate it.

When deactivating a Facebook account, we will not appear on the network, our profile or our publications are not displayed, although it is possible that certain information, such as messages, will be visible to the people or the pages to which we send them. And what was said: the account remains, even if it is not seen.

Deactivation can be an option to consider if you want to return at some point and do not want to lose what you had

to get to the option that allows us to deactivate our Facebook account

Final steps to reach the option that allows us to deactivate our Facebook account.

Therefore, if our objective is a total disappearance of the network, we must discard this option and move towards the outright elimination that we have explained before.

If deactivation is enough for us, we will have to access the account menu located in the upper right part symbolized with the icon of an arrow pointing down, click on Settings and privacy, access to Setting, here click in the left column on Your Facebook information and, at this point, click on Watch in option Deactivation and removal. Finally we will find the option “Deactivate your account”. By clicking on it, we will be informed about what it means and will offer us to indicate a reason why we proceed to deactivation, it will ask us to appoint administrators if we manage pages or groups alone and some other questions. Finally, continuing with the process by pressing Deactivate, Facebook will ask us for the password.

Facebook Deactivate Account 3

After this step, Facebook will begin to fight so that we do not leave, even resorting to emotional blackmail.

“By deactivating your account, your profile will be deactivated and your name and photo will be removed from most of the content you have shared on Facebook. Some people will still be able to see certain information, such as your name in their friends list and the messages that you have sent. “

If neither that message nor the photos of some of our friends along with their name and the text “will miss you” make us change our mind, we will go ahead with our decision. An alternative may be proposed to us before deactivating the account. If this happens, we simply close the window in which it is indicated and continue confirming the possible confirmations, regardless of the redundancy, they will ask us and, after it, the deactivation will be completed.

To reverse the situation, just log in normally in the network or other third party service in which we use the Facebook account, also having access to the email account used.