Skip to content

How to delete your WhatsApp account

23 mayo, 2021

There are several reasons why you might want delete your WhatsApp account. Maybe you have found an application to chat better and you have decided to delete it forever or maybe you created a test account years ago and never used it. If you want to remove it, doing it is really easy.

In this article we will tell you about the process to delete a WhatsApp account, as well as what is erased and what is not. We will also see how deleting your account affects people with whom you have chatted in the past.

WHATSAPP Tips and tricks to HIDE YOURSELF TO THE MAXIMUM and keep your PRIVACY

What happens when you delete your WhatsApp account

He left When deleting a WhatsApp account, it automatically leaves all groups

Before you hit the red button to destroy your account, please note that the deletion of an account is irreversible. That is, you will not be able to recover the messages in any way, even if you have backup copies on your mobile or Google Drive.

Deleting an account is not the same as logging out of WhatsApp on a mobile phone (for example, uninstalling the app or deleting the data), as the account disappears forever from your mobile and WhatsApp servers. That is, you cannot log in again with it on any other mobile. And there is no turning back.

WhatsApp: 19 tricks (and some extras) to make the most of this instant messaging app

When deleting a WhatsApp account, all the history linked to it disappears, although messages previously sent to other people remain in their copies. sent in the past will continue on the mobile phones of their recipients, unless they delete them. These are the data being erased:

  • The account on the WhatsApp servers.

  • All message history.

  • Your participation in WhatsApp groups.

  • Backup to Google Drive.

Your contacts they do not receive any notification that you’ve deleted your account, and they may keep sending you messages if they aren’t paying attention. These messages will be left with a single “tick”, without ever being shown as delivered. The past chats will still be there, they will be able to consult them and they will be able to write in them, although they can find out that you have deleted your account from the screen to start a new chat.

Manoletenoesta Although WhatsApp does not tell your friends that you have deleted your account, they can know it from “New chat”, as “Invite” will appear next to your name

By the way, although all WhatsApp messages from the mobile will be deleted, Photos and videos that are saved will be kept in the memory of the mobile. Remember, yes, these photos are shown in the gallery, or not, depending on how the application was configured.

How to deactivate your WhatsApp if your mobile has been lost or stolen

How to delete your WhatsApp account

If you are determined to delete your WhatsApp account, you may be interested in exporting the messages first so that you can read them later, if you want. Otherwise, the process is quite simple. First, enter the WhatsApp settings, go to the section of Account and tap on Delete my account.

Deletewhatsapp account

Deleting the WhatsApp account is forever and, in addition, there is no grace period in which you can regret and recover everything as it was. What is deleted, deleted remains, so it is normal for WhatsApp to ask you for triple confirmation of your intentions.

First, you need to enter your phone number at the bottom of the screen, adding the country code in case it is wrong. On the next screen, you can add a reason why you delete the account and, finally, you must confirm again that you want to delete the account.

Deletemyaccount22

As soon as you press this third Delete my account, you return to the WhatsApp welcome screen and a floating message warns you that “your WhatsApp account has been deleted.” If you try to log in with the same phone number, you will start from scratch, as if it were a new number in which WhatsApp has never been registered.

What if you don’t have your mobile handy?

Telephoned

If you want to delete a WhatsApp account but you do not have your mobile phone with WhatsApp at hand at the moment, you cannot delete it completely but you can temporarily disable writing an e-mail to support@whatsapp.com with the subject “Lost / stolen phone: Please deactivate my account” in the message and your full phone number, in international format.

This does not delete the account completely, but it does keep it inactive. If you don’t reactivate your account within 30 days, it will be completely removed, thus being a somewhat convoluted, but feasible, way to delete your account without having your mobile with WhatsApp at hand.