Skip to content

How to prevent Facebook from sharing my data with third parties

27 mayo, 2021

The latest social network scandal with Cambridge analytica reflects everything that is terribly wrong with Facebook. That company gained access to the data of more than 50 million Facebook users without their permission and without it being a data breach, but how Facebook is designed to work.

It is another many of the drops that seem to continue to overflow the glass of patience that users have. But while abandoning Facebook is becoming a trend, we are clear that for many, deleting their Facebook accounts completely and forever is not a real alternative, either because it is their communication tool with friends, family and colleagues, or because of countless others. reasons. What we can do is take some control and continue to use Facebook without allowing them to share our data with third parties.

How to delete your Facebook account completely and forever

As explained in the EFF, although it is possible to choose not to be part of the API of the platform that shares your data with third parties, the process is quite tedious and not everyone is going to take the time to carry it out. But, if you are one of those interested in
take some control without leaving Facebook, we explain the steps:

FACEBOOK keeps a record of ALL WEBSITES you visit so you can DEACTIVATE IT

Completely disable the Facebook application platform

Application Configuration 2018 03 20 18 21 52
  • Log in to Facebook and then go to Applications
  • In the box that says “Applications, websites and plugins click on Edit
  • In the pop-up message, click Deactivate platform
  10 Application Configuration 2018 03 20 18 23 18

Note that once this is done you will not be able to log in with Facebook anywhere else, or enjoy integrations on other platforms, that is, nothing to log into games with Facebook, or search for Facebook friends on other networks, etc.

The data that you have already shared in the past with third-party applications before deactivating the platform will remain in the hands of those platforms and Facebook throws the ball to them by telling you to contact the third parties to delete that data.

Right, in that same application settings menu, you will also find all the third-party apps that you have ever given access to your Facebook account.

Sessions Initiated With Facebook

If you click on See all You can remove access to each one, but you must do it individually, a horrible and tedious process if you have hundreds of sites and platforms connected, like the vast majority of users. There is no option to do it in batch.

A less drastic option

Applications Used by Other People

If it does not seem convenient and comfortable for your daily use to deactivate the entire Facebook platform, you have a slightly less drastic option and from which you can choose the different types of information that other apps can take.

Click on Apps used by other people and you will be able to choose from more than a dozen pieces of information that third parties can access and also take from your profile. There are still things that are shared unless you deactivate the platform completely.

Facebook

Just remember, this only prevents Facebook from sharing your data with others, the Zuckerberg company still has access to everything to benefit in many other ways. This is only an option for those who are unwilling or unwilling to get rid of Facebook completely.

For some, like Snowden, Facebook has become a surveillance company rebranded as a social network, and while governments continue to try with little success to regulate the extent of disasters at Mark Zuckerberg’s company that use our data as a bargaining chip, users are not left with many alternatives.