Skip to content

This is how Instagram cheats when you take a screenshot on Android

26 mayo, 2021

The first time we heard that Instagram would notify you when someone took a screenshot was in November 2016 and it seems that the function is now ready for the general public. The messaging application has already started notify when someone takes a screenshot, at least some users, myself included.

Does this mean that you won’t be able to take any screenshots at any time on Instagram? No. We have tried it and we will tell you how exactly does it work, how does it warn you and when you can and cannot take screenshots on Instagram for Android.

When does it warn you, and when not?

Or, rather, when you “shouldn’t” take screenshots if you don’t want the other person to know, it will send them a notification and a warning that you just took it. For now, this feature only applies to private messages sent via Direct.

The notice is sent if someone takes a screenshot of photos or videos sent from camera (photos, boomerang, superzoom, rewind, hands-free, or the new text), regardless of whether you choose Allow view again or One view. It does not notify of screenshots taken to chat or photos sent from the gallery.

Camera Photos sent from camera: yes notifies. Photos sent from gallery: no.

Instagram does not warn of the screenshots you take in the Instagram Stories or in the photos normally published on the social network, so on that side you can take as many screenshots as you want with total immunity. At least for now.

How it alerts you to a screenshot

Instagram warns you doubly every time it takes screenshots of the photos you send them via Direct. Instead of showing the text “Delivered” in the chat, it shows *Screenshot*, and you also receive a notification on Android saying that “so and so has taken a screenshot of the photo you have sent”. Sneak.

Sneak

Screenshot detection works relatively well, although it is not foolproof. For example, using a video screen grabber as AZ Screen Record I have been able to capture the photo sent by Direct (on video) without notifying the other person.

Instagram

InstagramVaries by device

In Engadget Basics | How to avoid showing your last connection time on Instagram